Airports and airplanes

I’ve been to several airports in my life and I have explored them all. In Suvarnabhumi airport in Bangkok every staff member and passenger of our plane was eager to get to know me, but I was overwhelmed with the amount of people, and after a short walk I decided that my cage was not for keeping me in, but for keeping me safe and I hid inside.

Every time Mom would take me out to pass the scanner or another checkpoint, I’d hold on to her shoulder so hard that would leave marks on it even though my claws were cut before we hit the road.
The staff there checked my papers carefully. Two times for some reason. This is a huge airport with me being not the first cat to fly out for sure, the airport staff was a bit confused and not sure about the papers and rules. But still after rechecking everything the man informed every checking point that there is a cat traveling so they were waiting for us and were very helpful.

It was the longest flight in my life yet: Bangkok- Moscow – Chisinau. I am fine in the plane, but very eager to leave the cage once we are outside, so transit time is the hardest period of every trip.
It is strange that in Russia no one really cares about animals traveling and their documents. You have to spend lot of time and nerves to get them, but no one asks them in the airport. For the first time we arrived to Russia Mom would ask everyone who she needs to show them to. Everyone was surprised and the animal service officer was not pleased that we woke him up when we finally found their office. I didn’t like Domodedovo (airport of Moscow) at all. It is very big and we had to run far every time to show the documents to the vet service that was not happy we are law abiding passengers…

In the nameless airport of Chisinau we were met by the officer at arrival and had to pay a special fee for my entrance to the country and one more strange fee for me to leave it. You have to pay every step of the way there. Even documents for departure are made in three different places with three more times to pay than in the other counties I have been to.

In the Tolmochevo, airport of Novosibirsk Mom would ask again and again who to show my documents to upon arrival. But the place where the animals should be checked was empty and no one seemed to care. One lady officer was standing at the exit and watching Mom running around. Finally, she asked Mom: Is your cat well? Mom said: – Yes, we have all the documents needed and a couple additional to prove that, – she prepared to open a folder with my docs and to show her my passport with all the shots noted, microchip certificate and traveling health certificates. But the tired woman shook her head:
– Go then. It’s fine.
But Mom just kept staying there. She is always so worried that I might have problems with documents and may be taken away from her and put in quarantine or something, so she checks everything 10 times before she could breathe normally.
– Don’t you need to put some stamp on the documents? Will there be any problems for us later, when we travel again if you won’t? – she narrowed her eyes.
-It’s gonna be fine. Just go already. – the woman smiled.
M9m shook her head thinking that there are no guarantees in Russia that you will meet no problems even if you do everything right. One official says one thing, the other says different and it is always your fault…
Still she took me and walked away. We also were pretty tired. This is the only airport where I had no walk so far. It is small and usually crowded, no safe corners like in Moscow, where I made some friends checking out every small shop with snacks and newspapers.

3 thoughts on “Airports and airplanes

Leave a Reply

